On the Rise

8 Short Films from Sierra Leone on Gender Equality

Even though in most countries gender equality is officially guaranteed by law, women are discriminated against virtually everywhere, including in Sierra Leone.

In recent years, a number of laws have been passed in this West African country which improve the legal rights of women. Nevertheless, women continue to have a tough time of it, as these laws are not implemented with any kind of consistency: girls and women still struggle to gain access to education and work, they rarely have a right to express their views on social matters, and violent crimes against women often go uninvestigated. And these are just a few examples.

Only rarely does the media report on these problems. This is largely because talking about such matters is taboo, but it is exacerbated by the fact most people working in the media are men.

Sierra Leone On the Rise aims to give women in Sierra Leone a voice. This media project started with a two-week workshop in Makeni (Northern Province), where 16 young women and men were given training on how to make films, and 8 people who had taken part in the previous project Sierra Leone On the Mend received advanced training.

Participants exchanged experiences and together looked for cases and stories which seemed particularly significant to them. They then developed the scripts. Alongside this, they held in-depth discussions about the media: above all, the part it can play in addressing critical themes and finding solutions via social debate.

After the workshop, the participants produced 8 short films. You can watch those films here on this site.

The films will be shown in Sierra Leone and beyond, at events, on TV, at festivals, always with the same goal: to allow an open discussion on gender equality.

This project not only promoted plurality of opinion, and helped to make local people more media-savvy. It also paid for film equipment that will remain in Sierra Leone and allow further films to be made on relevant topics.

A project by WELTFILME.org and SLADEA in cooperation with Culture RadioMADAM and Xchange Perspectives
With financial support from the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development and Brot für die Welt.

On the Rise

8 Kurzfilme aus Sierra Leone über Gleichberechtigung

Obwohl in den meisten Ländern Gleichberechtigung im Gesetz verankert ist, werden Frauen so gut wie überall benachteiligt – auch in Sierra Leone.

In dem westafrikanischen Land wurden in den letzten Jahren mehrere Gesetze erlassen, um die Rechte von Frauen zu stärken. Dennoch haben Frauen dort nach wie vor einen schwierigen Stand, da es an der konsequenten Umsetzung der Gesetze mangelt: Der Zugang von Mädchen und Frauen zu Bildung, Arbeit und gesellschaftlichem Mitspracherecht ist weiterhin erschwert, und Gewalt gegen Frauen wird oftmals nicht geahndet – um nur wenige Beispiele zu nennen.

Die Medien berichten in der Regel nur selten über diese Probleme im Land. Neben der gesellschaftlichen Tabuisierung kommt erschwerend hinzu, dass Medienvertreter in erster Linie männlich sind.

Sierra Leone On the Rise will einen Beitrag leisten, sierra-leonischen Frauen eine Stimme zu geben. Das Medienprojekt startete mit einem zweiwöchigen Workshop in Makeni (Northern Province), bei dem 16 junge Frauen und Männer im Filmemachen ausgebildet und 8 Teilnehmende des Vorgängerprojekts Sierra Leone On the Mend weitergebildet wurden.

Im Austausch suchten sie gemeinsam nach Fällen und Geschichten, die ihnen besonders wichtig waren, und entwickelten daraus die Drehbücher. Gleichzeitig setzten sie sich eingehend mit den Medien auseinander – vor allem mit deren Rolle, kritische Themen anzusprechen und in der gesellschaftlichen Debatte zu einer Lösung zu kommen.

Nach dem Workshop produzierten die Teilnehmenden 8 Kurzfilme, die hier nun zu sehen sind.

Die Filme werden in Sierra Leone und darüber hinaus gezeigt: bei Veranstaltungen, im Fernsehen, bei Festivals – alles mit dem einen Ziel, eine Debatte über Gleichberechtigung im freien Dialog zu ermöglichen.

Mit dem Projekt wurden nicht nur Medienkompetenz und Meinungsvielfalt gefördert. Das Projekt finanzierte auch Filmequipment, das in Sierra Leone verbleibt, damit weiterhin Filme zu relevanten Themen realisiert werden können.

Ein Projekt von WELTFILME.org  und SLADEA in Kooperation mit Culture Radio , MADAM und Xchange Perspectives
Mit finanzieller Unterstützung des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung und Brot für die Welt.