On the Mend

8 Short Films from Sierra Leone after Ebola

On the 7th November 2015, Sierra Leone was officially declared Ebolafree. That seemed to suggest that the country could now move on, but the epidemic had left its mark everywhere: people’s faith in the health service and the authorities had been shaken; the virus had torn families and whole villages apart; friends became enemies, as fear of picking up the virus spread; suspicion was rife and ubiquitous, as was mourning, for the thousands who had succumbed to Ebola.

The effects of the Ebola outbreak will be felt for a long time to come. In order to rebuild trust within the country, it is vital that people in Sierra Leone start to process the catastrophe and that they gear themselves up for a secure future – a future without Ebola.

The media project Sierra Leone on the Mend hopes to assist in this rebuilding. The first step was to organise a two-week workshop in Freetown, where 24 young Sierra Leoneans were given training on how to make films. They worked together on themes and stories that they felt were important, and then produced scripts. Alongside this, they were coached in Media for Peace, examining the role of media for positive social change and its practical applications from design to evaluation. After the workshop, the participants produced eight short films. You can now watch those films as well as a video documentation about the project here on this site.

The films will be shown in Sierra Leone and beyond: at events, on television, at festivals – always with the same goal: to heal the wounds inflicted by the epidemic by initiating an open public dialogue. The Sierra Leone on the Mend project not only promotes media-savviness and plurality of opinions. It also paid for film equipment which was left in Sierra Leone so that other films dealing with relevant topics can be made in future.

A project by WELTFILME.org and Culture Radio in cooperation with SLADEA, and Xchange Perspectives

With financial support from the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development and Brot für die Welt.

On the Mend

8 Kurzfilme aus Sierra Leone nach Ebola

Am 7. November 2015 wurde Sierra Leone offiziell für Ebola-frei erklärt. Damit schien das Land die Epidemie endgültig hinter sich zu lassen, und doch waren die Spuren allgegenwärtig: Der Glaube in das Gesundheitswesen und in die Behörden war tief zerrüttet. Das Virus hatte Familien und ganze Dörfer auseinander gerissen. Freunde wurden zu Feinden – aus Angst, sich anzustecken. Das Misstrauen war groß und überall genauso wie die Trauer über den Tod von Tausenden.

Die Folgen des Ebola-Ausbruchs werden noch lange spürbar sein. Um das Vertrauen im Land wieder aufzubauen, gilt es nun, die Katastrophe aufzuarbeiten und sich für eine sichere Zukunft zu rüsten – eine Zukunft ohne Ebola.

Dazu will das Medienprojekt Sierra Leone on the Mend seinen Beitrag leisten. Den Startpunkt bildete ein zweiwöchiger Workshop in Freetown, in dem 24 junge Sierra Leoner im Filmemachen aus- oder weitergebildet wurden. Gemeinsam erarbeiteten sie die Themen und Geschichten, die ihnen wichtig waren, und entwickelten daraus dann die Drehbücher. Zugleich beschäftigten sie sich eingehend mit der Rolle der Medien in Krisensituationen und ihrer Kraft für gesellschaftliche Aussöhnung.  Nach dem Workshop produzierten die Teilnehmenden acht Kurzfilme, die hier nun – zusammen mit einer Projektdokumentation – zu sehen sind.

Die Filme werden in Sierra Leone und darüber hinaus gezeigt: bei Veranstaltungen, im Fernsehen, bei Festivals – alles mit dem einen Ziel, im freien gesellschaftlichen Dialog die inneren und äußeren Wunden der Epidemie zu heilen. Im Rahmen von Sierra Leone on the Mend wurden nicht nur Medienkompetenz und Meinungsvielfalt gefördert. Das Projekt finanzierte auch Filmequipment, das in Sierra Leone verbleibt, damit weiterhin Filme zu relevanten Themen realisiert werden können.

Ein Projekt von WELTFILME.org und Culture Radio in Kooperation mit SLADEA und Xchange Perspectives.

Mit finanzieller Unterstützung des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung und Brot für die Welt.